List of National Symbols of India PDF[2024]

Here is the complete list of Important National Symbols of India that represents the diverse culture and shows the identity of the Indian Republic. Every Indian must be proud of our national symbols.

1.National Flag

national flag
Adopted on22 July 1947
Designed byPingali venkayya

The national flag consists of three horizontal and parallel strips with kesariya at the top, white in the middle and green colour at the bottom with Ashoka Chakra at the centre.The Ashok Chakra has 24 spokes. It was derived from the lioncapitol of Ashok at Sarnath, Bihar.The width to length ratio of the flag is 2:3.All the rules and regulations regarding flag hoisting of the national flag are given in Flag Code of India 2002.It was adopted on 26 January 2002.It emphasizes the freedom of the flag hosting in educational and private institutions as per Emblems and Names (Prevention of Improper Use) Act, 1950 and Prevention of Insult of Symbols Act, 1971.

 2. National Emblem

national emblem
Adopted on26 January 1950
Adopted fromlion capital of Ashok at Sarnath, Bihar

 It depicts 4 lions facing 4 different directions along with a bull, an elephant and a horse.‘Satyamev Jayate’ is written in Devnagari script means‘Truth only Triumphs’.It is taken from Mundak Upanishad.

3.National Anthem:- Jan- Gan -Mana

Adopted on24 January 1950
Written byRabindranath Tagore
Playing time52 sec

First time sang in Kolkata session of Indian National congress in 22 December 1911.It originally has 5 stanzas.

 4.National Song:- Vande-Mataram

Adopted on24 January 1950
Written byBankim Chandra Chattopadhyay
Playing time52 sec

First time sang in Kolkata session of Indian National Congress on 22 December 1911.It originally has 5 stanzas.

 5. National Calendar

There are two national calendars Saka calendar Gregorian calendar
Adopted onGregorian calendar was official calendar during British rule Saka calendar on 22 March 1957

The first month of Saka calendar is Chaitra.22 March is the first day of Chaitra month.21 March is the first day of a leap year.The first month of the Gregorian calendar is January.

 National flower – lotus

  • Indian lotus is the national flower. It is the Representative of purity as it remains flawless despite growing in mud and water.

National Fruit – Mango

  • Mango, also known as the ‘King of fruits’, is the National Fruit of India.

National River – Ganga

  • Ganga is the National River of India. It is also the longest river in the country.

National Tree – Banyan

  • The Indian Banyan ( Ficus bengalensis) is the national tree.

National Bird – Peacock

  •  Indian peacock (pavo cirstatus) is the national bird of India.

National Animal- The Bengal Tiger

  • The Bengal Tiger is known as the national animal of India.

FAQ’s for National Symbols

What are the five national symbols?

The Five national symbols are National Flag, National Song, National Anthem, National Emblem, National Bird etc.

Which is our national symbol ?

The Lion Capital at Sarnath established by Ashoka is our Nation Symbol.

What is India’s national fruit?


Leave a Comment